Faculty + Scholars

Robert Art

Christian A. Herter Professor of International Relations, Brandeis University
Director, Seminar XXI 
Senior Fellow, Security Studies Program

Expertise: International relations, US foreign policy, national security policy
art@brandeis.edu781-736-2754 Olin-Sang American Civilization Center, 109
Suzanne Berger

Raphael Dorman-Helen Starbuck Professor of Political Science

Expertise: Political economy (France and Italy), Europe (effects of globalization, politics, and labor), globalization (competitiveness, effects of globalization on institutions, history of globalization in France)
szberger@mit.edu617-253-6640E53-451
Donald Blackmer

Professor, Political Science (Emeritus)

Expertise: Comparative politics (Russia/FSU, left-wing parties in Western Europe)
blackmer@mit.edu617-253-3145E53-366
Nazli Choucri

Professor, Political Science

Expertise: International conflict, cyberpolitics, sustainability, cyberspace
nchoucri@mit.edu617-253-6198E53-493
Fotini Christia

Associate Professor, Political Science
Member, Security Studies Program

Expertise: Afghanistan; ethnicity, conflict and cooperation in the Muslim world; development in divided societies
cfotini@mit.edu617-324-5595E53-417
Owen Cote

Associate Director, Security Studies Program

Expertise: International security, US defense policy, naval doctrine and innovation, weapons of mass destruction
owencote@mit.edu617-258-7428E40-489

CV
 

Lerna Ekmekcioglu

McMillan-Stewart Career Development Associate Professor of History

Expertise: Modern Middle Eastern history
lerna@mit.edu617-253-9621E51-273
M. Taylor Fravel

Associate Professor, Political Science
Member, Security Studies Program

Expertise: Asian security, East Asian foreign policy, Chinese politics and military policy, international relations, conflict resolution
fravel@mit.edu617-324-0222E40-471

CV
@fravel
Personal website

Francis Gavin

Frank Stanton Chair in Nuclear Security Policy Studies
Professor, Political Science
Member, Security Studies Program

Expertise: Nuclear security policy
fgavin@mit.edu617-253-1825E40-491
Jeanne Guillemin

Senior Advisor, Security Studies Program

Expertise: Bioterrorism, medical anthropology
jeg@mit.edu617-324-3656E40-474

CV

Anna Hardman

Senior Lecturer, Dept of Economics, Tufts University
Co-chair, Inter-University Committee on International Migration

Expertise: Urban economics, housing, international migration, development economics
anna.hardman@tufts.edu617-627-8767E40-400

CV

Eric Heginbotham

Principal Research Scientist, Center for International Studies

Expertise: Asian international relations, Japanese foreign and strategic policy, Chinese foreign and strategy policy, conventional military forces and analysis, nuclear strategy, US Asia policy
eric_h@mit.edu617-324-3397E40-459
Chappell Lawson

Associate Professor of Political Science
Faculty Director, MIT International Science and Technology Initiatives (MISTI)
Director, International Policy Lab (IPL)

Expertise: Civil-military relations, international education, Latin America (democratization, mass media, regime change, Mexican elections/politics)
clawson@mit.edu617-253-3524E53-439

CV

Evan Lieberman

Total Professor of Political Science and Contemporary Africa

Expertise: Policy-making, conflict, human development especially in sub-Saharan Africa
evanlieb@mit.edu617-324-1642E53-410

CV
Personal website

Vipin Narang

Mitsui Career Development Associate Professor of Political Science
Member, Security Studies Program

Expertise: Nuclear proliferation, South Asian security, quantitative conflict studies, international relations theory, general security studies
narangv@mit.edu617-258-7363E40-465/E53-455

@NarangVipin

Richard Nielsen

Assistant Professor, Political Science

Expertise: Islam, political violence, human rights, economic development, research design
rnielsen@mit.edu857-998-8039E53-455

CV
Personal website

Melissa Nobles

Kenan Sahin Dean of the School of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences
Professor, Political Science

Expertise: Comparative politics (racial and ethnic politics, nationalism, social movements, retrospective justice)
mnobles@mit.edu617-253-34504-212

CV
Personal website
Dean's Office

Christine Ortiz

Morris Cohen Professor of Materials Science and Engineering
Dean of Graduate Education
Director, Ortiz Laboratory

Expertise: Biotechnology
cortiz@mit.edu617-253-48603-132/13-4022

Ortiz Laboratory

Kenneth Oye

Associate Professor of Political Science
Director, Program on Emerging Technologies (PoET)

Expertise: Emerging technologies (synthetic biology, ubiquitous computing, energy technology; economic, environmental, social and political effects), political economy, foreign policy, science and technology
oye@mit.edu617-253-3412E40-437/E53-423

CV
PoET

Roger Petersen

Arthur and Ruth Sloan Professor of Political Science
Member, Security Studies Program

Expertise: Civil-military relations, comparative politics, ethnic conflict, identity politics, security studies
rpeters@mit.edu617-253-6781E53-487

CV

Barry Posen

Ford International Professor of Political Science
Director, Security Studies Program

Expertise: Security studies (international security, grand strategy, use of force, military intervention, doctrine, organization and escalation), Middle East (US policy, Iran, Iraq), terrorism, Iran’s nuclear program, ethnic conflict, Cold War history
posen@mit.edu617-253-8088E40-463

CV

Carol Saivetz

Senior Advisor, Security Studies Program

Expertise: Russia, former Soviet Union
csaivetz@mit.edu617-324-3065E40-476
Richard Samuels

Ford International Professor of Political Science
Director, Center for International Studies

Expertise: Asia (Japanese politics and leadership, Asian security, political economy, comparative politics), Japan (security, politics, public policy, political leadership, defense/aerospace, international education), Italy (political leadership and economic history), civil-military relations
samuels@mit.edu617-253-2449E40-455

CV
@dicksamuelsmit

Bishwapriya Sanyal

Ford International Professor of Urban Development and Planning
Director, Special Program in Urban and Regional Studies (SPURS)/ Humphrey Fellows Program 

Expertise: Urban studies and planning
sanyal@mit.edu617-253-32709-435A

CV
Personal website

Harvey Sapolsky

Professor, Public Policy and Organization (Emeritus)
Former Director, Security Studies Program

Expertise: Civil-military relations, military issues (innovation, defense politics, organizational theory)
sapolsky@mit.edu617-253-5265E40-481

CV

Ben Ross Schneider

Ford International Professor of Political Science
Director, MIT Brazil Program

Expertise: Capitalist development in Latin America (diversified business groups, foreign investment, human capital, labor markets, and commodity-led growth), new forms of state capitalism, industrial policy, state-owned enterprises
brs@mit.edu617-253-7207E53-423

CV
 

David Andrew Singer

Associate Professor, Political Science

Expertise: Political economy (international financial regulation, capital flows/policy, central banking, governance), international economics
dasinger@mit.edu617-258-9372E53-489

CV
Personal website

Eugene Skolnikoff

Professor, Political Science (Emeritus)

Expertise: Interaction of science and technology and international politics
ebskol@mit.edu617-253-3140E53-373
Kathleen Thelen

Ford International Professor of Political Science

Expertise: Political-economic institutions
kthelen@mit.edu617-324-3651E53-435

CV
Personal website

John Tirman

Executive Director & Principal Research Scientist
Center for International Studies

Expertise: Conflict resolution, international relations, migration and refugees, Persian Gulf, ethnic conflict, development, foreign policy, terrorism, human rights
tirman@mit.edu617-253-9861E40-447

CV
@JohnTirman

Reed Ueda

Professor, Department of History, Tufts University
Co-chair, Inter-University Committee on International Migration

Expertise: Industrial and urban US, immigration
reed.ueda@tufts.edu617-627-2444
Lawrence Vale

Ford Professor of Urban Design & Planning

Expertise: Urban design politics
ljvale@mit.edu617-253-056110-497M

CV

Stephen Van Evera

Ford International Professor of Political Science
Associate Director, Center for International Studies
Member, Security Studies Program

Expertise: War (causes and prevention, with focus on the role of national misperception as a cause of war, and on organized religions as causes of war or peace), US foreign policy, US security policy, international relations theory, social science methods with focus on qualitative methods, Middle East (Arab-Israeli conflict)
vanevera@mit.edu617-253-0530E40-475

CV

Jim Walsh

Research Associate, Security Studies Program

Expertise: Nuclear weapons and WMD proliferation (Iran, North Korea, Non-proliferation Treaty, terrorism), Iran (politics, nuclear program, US policy), Iraq, Persian Gulf
j_walsh@mit.edu617-324-3712E40-479

CV
@DrJimWalshMIT

Elizabeth Wood

Professor, History
Co-director, MIT Russia Program

Expertise: Cold War history, political economy of contemporary Russia, women’s rights, globalization
elizwood@mit.edu617-253-3255E51-282

CV