STARR FORUM Science & Innovation Thursday, April 9, 2015

6:00 PM - 7:30 PM

MIT 54-100 | Green Building



Welcoming Remarks:

Fiona Murray is the William Porter (1967) Distinguished Professor of Entrepreneurship, the Faculty Director at both the Martin Trust Center for MIT Entrepreneurship and the Legatum Center. Professor Murray is also the Associate Dean for Innovation, Co-Director of the Innovation Initiative, and has most recently been appointed a Member of the UK Prime Minister's Council for Science and Technology (CST). She is an international expert on the transformation of investments in scientific and technical innovation into innovationbased entrepreneurship that drives jobs, wealth creation, and regional prosperity.



Moderator:

Calestous Juma is Dr Martin Luther King, Jr Visiting Professor at MIT and Professor of the Practice of International Development at Harvard Kennedy School. He directs the Kennedy School's Agricultural Innovation in Africa Project funded by the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation. He is an internationally recognized authority on the application of science and innovation to sustainable development. Juma recently co-chaired the African Union's High-Level Panel on Science, Technology and Innovation and served on the jury of the Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering.



Speakers:

Phil Budden is a Senior Lecturer at MIT Sloan, affiliated with the Martin Trust Center for MIT Entrepreneurship and the TIES Group. He co-teaches a course on entrepreneurial ecosystems known as the 'Regional Entrepreneurship Acceleration Lab' (REAL) with Fiona Murray. REAL combines academic and real-world perspectives on how different stakeholders (including policymakers) can contribute to building successful ecosystems. Phil is currently on leave from the British Government, working in Boston's private sector for the Royal Bank of Scotland's US subsidiary, RBS Citizens, focusing on financing transatlantic (especially British-American) trade and investment.TISA 2024).



Nina Fedoroff is the Evan Pugh professor at Pennsylvania State University. She is former Science and Technology Advisor to the US Secretary of State. In 2007, President George W. Bush awarded her the National Medal of Science in the field of Biological Sciences, the highest award for lifetime achievement in scientific research in the United States. Fedoroff was elected President of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), a position she held from 2011 to 2012. She is a member of the United States National Academy of Sciences, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the European Academy of Sciences, and the American Academy of Microbiology.



Kenneth Oye holds a joint appointment at MIT in Political Science and Engineering Systems, with research and teaching on international relations, political economy and technology policy. In the past several years, he has served as an invited expert to the UN BWC, the WHO, PCAST and the National Research Council. Professor Oye is a recipient of the Levitan Award for Excellence in Teaching (2011), the Graduate Council Teaching Award (1998) and the Technology and Policy Program Faculty Appreciation Award (2003).